About Us

The Watercolor Society of South Texas (WSST) was founded in 1970.

In 2020, we will be celebrating our 50th Anniversary !


President Dr. Al Kline (2019-2022)-WEBSITE


The Society was formed to elevate the status of watercolor and to educate the public to the significance of watercolor as an important creative and permanent painting medium.

There will be no group bias for or against conservatism or modernism. The Society shall further the interests of painters in watercolor by its programs and its competitive exhibits, and shall encourage its study by art students and others engaged in watercolor painting.

The Society shall at all times be dedicated to the highest aesthetic standards.

Past and Current President:

2019-2022: Dr. Al Kline

  • 1970-71~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Ed Wetzlee
  • 1971-72~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~J.C. Worcester
  • 1972-73~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Bette Harris
  • 1973-74~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Clara Mae Marcotte
  • 1974-75~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Vava Calahan
  • 1975-76~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Jane Ewald
  • 1976-78~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Dolores Price
  • 1978-79~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Chispa Bluntzer
  • 1979-80~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Gloria Wolf-Leann Willis
  • 1980-81~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Barbara McDowell
  • 1981-82~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Pat Deadman
  • 1982-83~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Bonnie Prouty
  • 1983-84~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Zella Guerguin
  • 1984-85~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Darby Kachmar
  • 1985-87~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Carolyn Motes
  • 1987-88~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Bobbie Spencer
  • 1988-89~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Jane Peterson
  • 1989-90~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Pat Mondy
  • 1990-91~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Dolores Price
  • 1991-92~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Cornelia Morgan
  • 1992-93~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Betty Fletcher
  • 1993-94~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Janet Jamison
  • 1994-95~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Joan Teer
  • 1995-97~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Earl West
  • 1997-98~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Rotating Past Presidents
  • 1998-2001~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Pam Stanley & Pat Crenshaw
  • 2001-02~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Charlotte Shannon
  • 2002-03~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Meloria Timmerman
  • 2003-05~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Pam Stanley & Pat Crenshaw
  • 2005-06~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Pam Stanley & Charlotte Shannon
  • 2006-07~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Pam Stanley & Andrea Harwell
  • 2007-09~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Pam Stanley
  • 2009-10~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Neva Rossi Smoll
  • 2010-2018~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Louis Garcia
  • 2019~2022~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Dr. Al Kline